serve on a voluntary basis and are elected by North Carolina Baptists to help guide the ministry and missions efforts of the BSCNC. 

Convention Officers

During the annual meeting of the Convention, the messengers elect a president, first vice president and second vice president to serve a one year term. The officers may be elected for two consecutive terms. The president presides over the deliberations of the Convention and has responsibility of other duties as directed by the Convention. Other responsibilities of the president and vice presidents include serving as a nominating committee bringing recommendations for members of the Committee on Nominations to the Board for their election at its January meeting. The president and vice presidents also serve as ex-officio voting members of all Convention Committees and of the Board and its Executive Committee.  The Convention officers serve as ex-officio non-voting members of all subcommittees of the Convention Committees and all committees and subcommittees of the Board.


Timmy Blair Sr., BSCNC President

Timmy Blair Sr. has served as pastor of Piney Grove Chapel Baptist Church in Angier since 1987 except for a one year pastorate in South Carolina. Other churches he has served include Bolton Baptist in Bolton and Salem Baptist in Aynor, S.C. Blair led Piney Grove Chapel to have the highest number of baptisms in the Little River Association for a number of years and was recognized by the Convention in 2000 for being in the top ten for baptisms in its size category. Blair has previously served our Convention on the Board of Directors, the Committee on Committees, and the Program, Place and Preacher Committee, on which he served as chairman in 2009. He attended Fruitland Baptist Bible Institute, received his undergraduate degree from Luther Rice Seminary and earned his Master of Divinity from Luther Rice University. He and his wife Wendy have two married sons and two grandchildren.

Cameron McGill., BSCNC 1st Vice President

Cameron McGill has served as pastor of Dublin First Baptist Church since 2000. Since that time, Sunday morning worship attendance has nearly tripled and the church has begun a child development center. McGill previously served as associate pastor/youth pastor at Trinity Baptist Church in Spencer and First Baptist Church in Rockwell. McGill has served our Convention on the Board of Directors, the Executive Committee and the NC Baptist Aging Ministry Taskforce. Other areas of denominational service include moderator, Executive Committee and Evangelism Committee for Bladen Association, and vice moderator and youth committee chairman for Rowan Association. He has led Dublin First Baptist to establish partnerships with a church in New York City as well as in the European country of Moldova. McGill received his undergraduate degree from Emmanuel Baptist University. He and his wife Tiffany have three sons and one daughter.

Joel Stephens, BSCNC 2nd Vice President

Joel Stephens surrendered his life to Jesus in 1982. He and his wife Lisa have four children: Carson, Carrie, Cooper, and Cathryn. He serves as senior pastor of Westfield Baptist Church, Westfield, where he has been since 2001. Stephens has served our Convention on the Board of Directors, Chair of the Christian Higher Education Special Committee, Executive Committee, and as chairman of the Committee on Convention Meetings. Stephens has also served in various positions within the Surry Baptist Association, and on the Committee on Committees for the SBC. He received his Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry from Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.


Board Officers

At the January meeting of the Board of Directors, the president and vice president are elected by a majority vote of the Board. The president presides over all meetings of the Board and takes action as directed by the Board. The president and vice president also have responsibility of selecting committee members as set forth in the bylaws.  They serve as ex-officio voting members of all committees and sub-committees of the Board. The president and vice president also serve as chair and vice chair of the Executive Committee of the Board.

Michael Barrett, Board President

Michael Barrett has served as pastor of Pleasant Garden Baptist Church in Pleasant Garden since 1988. He holds degrees from Gardner-Webb University and Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. He has a passion for missions and evangelism and has served as a trustee for the International Mission Board. Barrett is married to Teresa and they have two daughters, Shannon and Shelly. They have four grandchildren and have had the privilege of being foster parents for 51 babies.

Perry Brindley, Board Vice President

Perry Brindley is pastor of Mount Zion Baptist Church in Canton where he has served for 15 years. He previously served at Skyland First Baptist in Skyland, NC, as well as two pastorates in South Carolina. The Mount Zion congregation currently gives 18% of all undesignated receipts to the Cooperative Program and has received past recognition from the International Mission Board, North American Mission Board, and the Convention for missions giving. The congregation recently partnered with the IMB to assist in planting 6 new works among the Benew people of Indonesia. Brindley has previously served the Convention on the Committee on Nominations and the Budget Committee. Brindley holds degrees from Fruitland Baptist Bible Institute, Southwest Bible College, and Luther Rice University. He and his wife Della have two adult children and six grandsons.

More Information

Pam Young  /  /  (800) 395-5102 ext. 5503